Soulmate Best Friends

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

It is going to be hard not to cry writing this post. I believe God puts people in your life for a reason and this is no exception.

Four years ago.. As a freshman at WVU I walked into the dorm bathroom to see a blond girl wiping away tears. I knew her from passing her in the hall, but had never spoke to her..You should know I am an empathetic person, so naturally my heart sank as I looked at her puffy eyes and asked if she was okay.

“Yeah I’m fine, just a boy….” she said.

Immediately, I replied, “Girl, I totally understand.” We laughed a little and then parted ways. Unknown to both of us, that was the start of an incomparable friendship.

Mallory and I slowly became friends throughout fall semester, but Spring is when we really bonded. Come to find out, we could really relate to each other in terms of the relationships we were “in”. They were far too freakishly similar. This became the foundation of our bond.

As time has passed over the course the past four years, it has become more and more understandable to why God brought us together. Don’t get me wrong, I have a lot of great friends and love and appreciate each and every one of you. But Mallory and I have undergone so many similar circumstances.

Mallory’s baby sis was diagnosed with Leukemia sophomore year.. Of course I was there for her in any way I possibly could be trying to understand. Junior year, my brother was in a very serious accident. In no way am I comparing our sibling’s battles, but if it was not having Mallory’s understanding, I am not sure how I would have survived. We could relate on the level of watching our parents stress and having to watch our siblings fight for health and not be able to do a single thing. If anyone understood that situation it was her.

Whether it has been a broken heart, my bad luck in fall 2012, a bad decision or mistake, a letdown, sharing the grief of God calling home a close friend, stress at home or at school, or just plain old failing at something.. Mal has been able to understand and withheld every single ounce of judgement. That’s rare and I value every second of that.

We haven’t just related on levels of hurt. No one is actually as silly as I am… except Mal. If I want to Zumba, sing off-key, dance my butt off in her living room, need a good cry, need someone to share a bottle of wine with.. that girl doesn’t hesitate cause more than likely.. she is in the EXACT same mood.

From crying together for the first time watching Phantom of the Opera to accidentally matching constantly for the past four years to imitating Magic Mike in the kitchen.. we have been there, done that.

I just want to say thanks, Mal… for everything. You’ve never hesitated to drop everything and it means the world to me. I thank God for bringing us together in the bathroom over tears. We’ve come so far. Here’s to the rest of our lives… I love you ❤

Leave a Reply

