NO, I’m NOT going to grad school.

tumblr_mjk9k3Iz7n1s5o56ao1_250

For such a long time, I had planned to attend graduate school before I even started my undergraduate career. Not going was never an option. So, I guess I can’t get too mad when people gasp at the fact that I’m not going to graduate school. But where I draw the line is when they belittle me. “Yeah, you can take time off but most people don’t go back to earn their Masters” or I get “Well there’s nothing wrong with working then applying”…. Who said I was applying at all?

Quite frankly, I do not know if I ever plan to earn my Masters and that is OKAY, people!

When it came to applying this past fall, suddenly, something in my heart changed my mind. After suffering a pretty nasty encounter this past fall, I began to really consider what I wanted… not what was expected of me.

After many tears and turmoil, I trashed every single grad school application that was staring at me on my desk. My heart sank a little, but I knew it was the right thing to do. You see, after long self-evaluation, I realized I was going for mainly the security of the situation. I could have easily applied to WVU and double-dipped my college career. A large part of me thought I wanted that. But I wanted it Β for the wrong reasons: it was the easy thing to do. I could spend two more years here in Morgantown around friends and family and have it pretty made. But all I was really doing was putting off the challenge of finding a job.

I guess I am actually pretty proud of myself. I decided to test myself. I know I am ready for change and I’m ready to experiment with my limits. I do not have anything lined up in May when I graduate, but I keep reminding myself it is going to be okay. I know this is what I am meant to do. This is something that needs to happen for my personal growth. A risk very much worth taking.

-Shae

Leave a Reply

