To all my first year residents:

208258_1618754240620_1116253_n-2

To all my first year residents,

As graduation is just a couple weeks away, I want to tell you how proud I am of all you wonderful ladies!! I can’t help but think back to move-in day. The hall was prepped with smiley face name tags and a quote on the bulletin board read “We comes as strangers, we leave as friends.” I was nervous as you were on that EXTRA hot August day. I was definitely sweating from nerves rather than the heat as I went around and introduced myself. I met you and your parents as you unpacked..Woah, where has time gone?! I was so excited to get to know all of you girls….

I just want to thank each of you for everything you helped me learn along my own college experience. I especially want to thank you for all the many late night powwows in the lounge, even if it was after you had one too many to drink in your dorm room (yep, I knew). Thanks for coming in my room with happy tears and sad tears. Thanks for letting me cry sometimes too. Thanks for coming to all those repetitive floor meetings and eating all my candy. Thanks for decorating the hall for my birthday. Thanks letting me eat lunch with you. Thanks for running up and down the hallway at all hours of the night (Sam). Thanks for helping me laugh on some of my worst days. Thanks for asking my for fashion advice. Thanks for letting me help you. Thanks for making awesome Christmas door decs. Thanks for coming to my floor programs. Thanks for respecting my space. Thanks for the tie-dye memories. Thanks for pretending you didn’t see me downtown. Thanks for doing floor dinners. Thanks for it all, but especially, thanks for making Boreman 3rd Floor North the best floor in all of WVU!

I am wishing eachΒ of you a happy last couple of weeks as an undergrad student. You’re almost there and you’re going to make it, I promise! I know y’all are headed for big things! Even if the next couple months are a little confusing, don’t forget what I told you four years ago when you started on your journey: “Define your dreams, set your goals, and make them happen. The only person who can ever hold you back is yourself” Once a Mountaineer, Always a Mountaineer!

Congrats, ladies!!!

Forever your RA,
Shae

Leave a Reply

