You Do You Boo..

Processed with VSCOcam with x1 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b1 preset

January 2015 has taught me more about myself than I thought was possible in a month’s time. No, seriously.

At the end 2014, I felt happy, but I was still decluttering my shelves from my breakup. There were so many logistics that had to be sorted and my bursts of happiness often got dampened by the responsibility of putting “that” to rest. And then once I was finally able to close the chapter, I went home to my family for the Christmas season. So my test of independence didn’t feel real until the morning of January 2 when I packed up my Jeep for Michigan. I hugged my dad goodbye and for some reason as I pulled out of the driveway, it felt like this was the first time I was actually moving away from home.

The chaos of the last six months that was my life was finally over and my canvas was blank. What would I draw? How would I do it? Is this going to be ok? Am I making the right decision? Fear started to cloud my mind, but as I headed north, I mustered every ounce of self-determination I had left and decided there was no better time or place than now.

Although leaving West Virginia that day was hard, God has shown me Ann Arbor is exactly where I am meant to be right now. I have literally had the time of my life this past month and I say that with whole-hearted sincerity. There haven’t been any monumental circumstances that have made it so magnificent (besides carrying a 52″ TV up a flight of stairs all by myself hahaha), I’ve just taken my life and realized the difference between an ordeal and an adventure is my attitude. Right now, my life is and should be an adventure.

I feel more me than I ever have before. I am learning more about myself (what I want, where I’m meant to be, what my passions are) and my relationship with God is stronger than ever.

If this month is any sign of the year to come, watch out world.. 2015 is my year.

PS My favorite song right now is Uptown funk. The pictures from above are me gettin’ down to it. 😉

Here’s to February!

-Shae

Leave a Reply

