The Harvest

As the color of the leaves have started to grow brighter and the cool, autumn air has settled in on the Midwest, I have been reflecting on harvest season.

Harvesting is the process of gathering a ripe crop from the fields.  On smaller farms with minimal mechanization, harvesting is the most labor-intensive activity of the growing season.

Isn’t that relative to this time of year in general? For some reason, fall seems to put life into fast forward and this season is one of the most labor-intensive of the year as we start to rip and run. Every fall I can ever remember has been like this for me. Yet this year, in a time when the world is telling me I need to “harvest”, I hear my God calling me to ‘be still’.

My gut reaction was, “But God.. I need to go do. I need to harvest…”. But He kept repeating it over and over. And so this last month, I’ve done my best version of just that – slowing down.

If you know me, you have a good idea of how crazy my schedule is. I work a fulltime job and a side hustle. When I’m not doing those two things, I’m either eating, sleeping, traveling to see my family, or working out. That’s it.

In the last month, I’ve taken time to reflect, got my butt back into church, switched up my routine, and have seriously made strides to rest. It wasn’t until I planted my feet and just stopped moving that I realized just how distracted I truly have been.

As I started to question why I do all the things I do, I forced to face what I put before God. And then it hit me, what do I have worth harvesting this fall that has actually been watered and sown by Christ? What did I plant with Him?

Just like a farmer’s crop, not all produce will be worth harvesting. The rotten will be left behind and the ripe will be reaped for fulfillment.

I challenge you to think about our own crop this season. Should you harvest at all? Should you reset and prepare for replanting? What’s been watered by Christ? Are there things you should leave behind in the field?

Whatever the answer, know that the change of the season is God’s reminder we can always begin again.

Happy Harvest season, y’all. Our God is so good.

Matthew 13:23English Standard Version: As for what was sown on good soil, this is the one who hears the word and understands it. He indeed bears fruit and yields, in one case a hundredfold, in another sixty, and in another thirty.”

Leave a Reply

